Summer Seafood Recipes


My brother gave me the OK to discuss his colitis. Two years prior to finding out about my brother, I had informed myself about the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD). What interested me most about the diet was that it not only targeted those with Crohn’s, Autism, cystic fibrosis and colitis (like my brother), but also celiacs and those affected by gluten intolerance (–>me<–). Therefore, being familiar with this healing diet allowed me to  recall what I’d previously learned and also refer my family to the book titled “Breaking The Vicious Cycle”.

I have previously experimented with many SCD recipes I’ve found over the past few years (most of which are photographed and featured somewhere on my blog), but we’ve also purchased many other recipe books in the meantime. If and when you see the abbreviation SCD underneath a recipe you can expect that it contains no grains or other illegal foods.

As Matt, my brother, has discovered; eating this specific way does not have to be bland or boring… and the healing process will be evident in given time.

Fish Tacos With Guacamole & Mango Salsa

IMG_9881

Guacamole: Avocados, Pink Himalayan salt, fresh cilantro, tomatoes, lime juice and red onion.

Mango Salsa: Chopped mango, cilantro, tomato, lime juice (and a drizzle of honey / pinch of salt – if desired)

Cook & chop your fish (Mahi Mahi or Swordfish are good choices)

Tortillas/Tacosrecipe

Coconut Lime Shrimp
IMG_0541

Marinate the shrimp overnight in 1 cup of coconut milk (Natural Value / Trader Joe’s do not contain any additives such as guar or xantham gum), 1 tsp garlic powder. After marinating, grill the shrimp on high heat until both sides are somewhat charred. Finish by sprinkling unsweetened shredded coconut and squeezing fresh lime juice on them.

Shrimp “Caesaer” Salad

IMG_0899

Chop up a bowl of romaine and add in grilled shrimp. Click here for SCD legal Caesar salad dressing recipe.

Reply!

