Image

Cozy Soup Days


On Monday, I went to the city with my friend, Anne. There was a cute little market in Union Square (Union Square Holiday Market), so we had to check it out, obviously.

I bought a tea ball from one of the venders for $8 because I have a few bags of loose-leaf tea at home.

My mom bought a tea ball from a local grocery store, Mrs. Greens, while I was in the city. Her tea ball price? $2.00…

Oops.

 

 

Since my over-priced tea ball cannot be returned, I figured I should put it to good use with some rooibos tea:

Some of the tea even went through the filter. Ugh…

On a more positive note, I made my grandparents dinner three times this week.

I made them Vegetarian Pad Thai last Monday, Butternut Squash Soup with Pear, Cider, and Vanilla Bean (by RoostBlog) on Friday, and last night I made another recipe from http://www.roostblog.com/ ; Roasted Heirloom Cauliflower and Chestnut Soup:

Ingredients:

  • 2 heads of cauliflower (I used 1 very large head)
  • 3 large cloves of garlic, whole with the skin removed
  • 1 large yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 cup roasted chestnuts (roughly 20-30) I wasn’t sure how much time I’d have so I used pre-roasted chestnuts from Whole Foods
  • 1 Tbs thyme
  • 4-7 cups of vegetable stock, depending on how chunky you want it (I used 4 cups vegetable stock, 3 cups water)
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • thyme and pomegranate seeds to garnish

Preheat oven to 425. Roast your chestnuts or have your pre-roasted ones at the ready. Cut cauliflower into chunks. Place cauliflower, garlic (whole), and onion (slices) on baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and salt & pepper. Roast veggies for 25-30 minutes. When the veggies are almost ready bring the stock and bay leaves to a boil, reduce heat to simmer and cover. Pour the finished veggies, thyme and chestnuts into the broth. Simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove the bay leaves. Then, in batches, puree the soup in a blender until desired consistency. Garnish with pomegranate seeds and thyme.

Enjoy with a side of kale chips? Maybe, maybe not.

Quickly, while we’re on the subject of pomegranate – does anyone else have a love-hate relationship with that fruit like I do? The seeds always fling across the room when I remove pry them out with a spoon.

Reply!

