It’s Been A Long Night In New York City….



I spent Friday afternoon until Sunday afternoon in the city with my grandparents. It was a great experience and I couldn’t have asked for anything more. I’m used to hanging out with them one-on-one whether it’s cooking dinner for them or just stopping by for a glass of  water when I go for a runl. My grandma, grandpa and I have a really great relationship, and until this weekend I hadn’t realized how uncommon this is today in age. Truthfully, how many people do you know willingly hang out with their grandparents? The waiter at one of the [fabulous] restaurants we went to kindly pointed this out to me. Well, I absolutely love the time I spend with them and I cherish every moment of it. And I know my grandma is reading this right now, so I just wanted to take the time to dedicate the first portion of my post to saying thank you for the perfect weekend the 3 of us shared together. I’m also very impressed and proud that you were able to walk 6 blocks from the Broadway show and back to the hotel with your walker. You never let anything slow you down.

My grandPa and I.

I’m going to start backwards with this particular post; starting from today and working back to Wednesday. Here we go.

Tomorrow’s Monday, so that means back to school, back to work and back to the mini fridge. I’ve strayed away from being a vegetarian and have slowly made my way into being almost completely vegan. The energy level of a mostly plant-based diet is extraordinary. I made a few things to bring back to school to save myself time during the week.

Homemade Coconut Bread (yes… our tree is still up)

Ingredients

  • 6 eggs
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 Tbs honey, agave or maple syrup
  • pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350. Mix all of the ingredients together until there are no clumps. Pour batter into a small loaf pan.

Bake for 40 minutes until the top has browned. This grain and nut-free ‘bread’ goes great with a variety of things. My favorite is almond butter, chia seeds and cane-sugar-free plum fruit spread.

I also pre-madeAnts On A Log’

Many, many ants.

Wednesday I threw together my own Brussel Sprout Concoction

Cooked black quinoa, broccoli sprouts, brussel sprouts, sweet potato, onions and cashew ‘cheese’.

That’s all folks 😉

How was your weekend? What’s your favorite restaurant in NYC? Do you have any weird food obsessions?

5 thoughts on “It’s Been A Long Night In New York City….

  1. Deanna, thank YOU for being YOU! We had a wonderful, adventurous, fun weekend with
    you in New York! Spending this time with you was very special for us. We are very lucky
    grandparents!

  2. Grandpa said the picture of you and him at Halloween brings back a lot of memories, one
    being, when your mother asked you who you thought that was with the wig and dress on,
    you told her “I don’t know who she is but she looks like my Grandpa”! And Grandpa said thanks for an enjoyable time in New York!

Reply!

