Image

Experiments In The Kitchen


I love cooking (well, I guess for raw food it would be more of the “putting together” of food). I find myself daydreaming about how I can make a dish look good in a photograph and taste even better. I even do it while I’m laying in bed trying to sleep. Weird, I know.

Anyway, I catered to my grandparents on Saturday because they live two streets away from me and are more open to vegan options than my brother and father. Here is a look at this weekend’s experimentations:

 

 

 

Raw Vegan Red Velvet Cake

20121014-190704.jpg

 Recipe for the cake & frosting —> http://www.betterraw.com/2012/02/raw-food-red-velvet-cake-and-caramel.html then for the designs I used: red & golden raspberries around the edge. For the flower: cut up strawberries (petals) , unsweetened cacao nibs (inside of flower) and spirulina & agave mixed together (green stems).

Raw Vegan Creamy Hemp & Red Pepper Soup

20121014-190731.jpg

 Recipe here —> http://www.choosingraw.com/red-pepper-and-hemp-soup/

Raw Cashew Cream Stuffed Strawberries

20121014-190821.jpg

I had left over frosting from the red velvet, so I stuffed it inside some strawberries then topped them all with a blueberry.

Raw Carob Truffles & Cookie Dough Bites

20121014-190931.jpg

I had even more frosting leftover so I rolled the remainings of it into small balls and rolled them in carob powder and unsweetened cacao nibs.

Jicama ‘Rice’ & Uncooked Sautéed Veggies

20121014-190955.jpg

Ingredients:

Jicama (skin peeled off and chopped into pieces that fit into blender/food processor)

1 Cup Mushrooms

1 Cup Broccoli Chopped (Moderately)

1/2 Cup Red Cabbage Chopped

1/4 Cup Carrots Diced

Red Wine Vinegar

Himalayan Salt

Juice From 1 Lemon

EVOO

1 t. Chilli Powder

1 T Tahini

Instructions:

Place jicama in blender/food processor until it resembles ‘rice’. Lemon Tahini Sauce: mix 2 tablespoons EVOO, tahini, 1 t. salt, lemon juice and chilli powder. Put mushrooms into a plastic bag and pour in the .Lemon Tahini Sauce. Put broccoli into a plastic bag and pour in EVOO and 1 1/2 t. salt. Put carrots & cabbage into a plastic bag with red wine vinegar and 1 1/2 t. salt. Let everything ‘marinate’ overnight. Pour the ‘marinated’ veggies over the bed jicama ‘rice’ the next morning.

Toasted Almond, Carob Chip & Strawberry ‘Ice Cream’ (Raw & Vegan)

20121014-191120.jpg

Ingredients:

For ‘Toasted Almond’

Frozen Banana

1/3 Cup Vanilla Sunwarrior

Raw Almonds

Blended

For ‘Carob Chip’

Frozen Banana

1/3 Cup Vanilla Sunwarrior

1 T Carob Powder

Blended & Topped with Unsweetened Cacao Nibs

Strawberry

Frozen Banana

1/3 Cup Vanilla Sunwarrior

4 Frozen Strawberries

Blended & Topped with Strawberry Sauce

Strawberry Sauce

Agave

Frozen Strawberries

Blended

Reply!

