Image

Cooked & Raw Food


I was feeling rather sluggish and foggy after Hurricane Sandy waltzed on in and reached havoc on my hometown/state. So I decided to participate in somewhat of a “detox.”

I hate the word detox. My body does that naturally. So I guess I will call this a “whole foods only” break.

I already eat extremely healthy foods on a daily basis, therefore, my “break” is not much different than my everyday diet. This “break” simply consists of consuming more raw (uncooked) foods rather than cooked foods. Duration? Until I crave something cooked again.

FYI I cannot tolerate some raw fruits and vegetables (i.e. I get hives); however, when I cook these known “trigger foods,” I can consume them without having a reaction. It has to do with the enzymes. I won’t bore you with science, though.

Below, find a combination of cooked and uncooked vegan recipes.

Allergen Friendly Gnocchi with Pumpkin Tomato Sauce (Gluten, Grain, Corn, Dairy, Casein & Soy Free)

Recipe here – http://fridgescrapings.com/2012/01/08/chart-picks-and-chickpea-experiments-for-2012/

Sweet Potato Chips with Rosemary & Lime

And then the raw food cravings kicked in…….

Tangible Tang Green Smoothie

‘Tortilla’ Soup

Recipe here – http://www.choosingraw.com/raw-tortilla-soup/

True Blood

(Plus ginger root and carrot)

‘Lo Mein’ 

Nori Wraps/Raw Sushi with ‘Soy Sauce’ (Coconut Aminos) & Pickled Ginger

Hemp & Cashew Cheese, Apples, Fig Preserves & Dehydrated Flax Crackers

Homemade Coconut Yogurt with Mixed Berries & Mango

Arugula & Spinach Salad with Dijon Vinaigrette and ‘Candied’ Pecans (Coconut nectar + Lemon juice)

Questions, comments, concerns ? Let me know. Gracias.

One thought on “Cooked & Raw Food

Reply!

