Red, White & Blueberry Cupcakes (Gluten Free, Nut Free, Refined Sugar Free, Soy Free, Corn Free, Dairy Free)


DSC_2045
πŸ’™β€πŸ’™
Interested in my red, white & blueberry frosting?

What if I told you that it is only made from fruit….?

I try not to post unique recipes because an experienced baker can easily identify the ingredients that I use, remake the recipe, and then claim it as their own.

Today, however, I will share my healthy Patriotic Frosting recipe to benefit my friends and followers from my hometown.

Of course, you may use any cupcake recipe for this, but I wanted to offer a paleo, SCD friendly and low carb option to accompany my frosting.

Strawberry Cupcakes:
1 3/4 cup almond flour (I use Honeyville or make my own)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
2 TBS honey
3 eggs
1/2 Tbs strawberry or almond extract
4 Tbs shortening
1/2 cup strawberries, quartered

-Preheat oven to 350Β°
-In a food processor combine flour, salt and baking soda
-Pulse in eggs, shortening, honey and strawberry/almond extract
-Pour in a bowl and carefully fold in strawberries
-Line a cupcake pan with paper liners, fill 3/4 full with batter
-Bake for 20 minutes (test with a toothpick)
-Cool for 1 hour
-Top with my Patriotic Frosting ⬇ {recipe follows}

This frosting is vegan. Use it on cakes, cupcakes or cookies.

Patriotic Frosting:
1 cup coconut butter
3 Tbs honey
1/2 cup freeze dried strawberries
1/4 cup fresh blueberries

Combine coconut butter and honey. Warm the mixture in the oven until it is pourable. Spread on cupcakes (cake or cookies).

Put the strawberries in a blender. Pulse to create red “sprinkles”. Dust on top of the frosting.

Lastly, top with blueberries.

Alternatively, you may use a honey-sweetened meringue frosting in place of the coconut frosting, and then follow the rest of the recipe accordingly.

I would love to see your own creations, so please tag me in your pictures if you use my recipe! 😊

DSC_2058

DSC_2041

DSC_2052

DSC_2055

One thought on “Red, White & Blueberry Cupcakes (Gluten Free, Nut Free, Refined Sugar Free, Soy Free, Corn Free, Dairy Free)

Reply!

