Fresh Kale Pesto


I was oddly excited to see bugs on our kale from the farm… is that weird? I guess I would rather have bugs on my produce (that can be washed off) than toxic pesticides.

Did you know Monsanto injects tomatoes with fish DNA? That was the first fun fact I learned about GMOs 10 years ago. Lord knows what they poison us with now…

Anyways, here is a kale pesto recipe that you may use in pasta dishes, atop flatbreads/pizzas, drizzled on veggies and salad etc. The pesto will go with anything, basically.

Although I would not pair it with ice cream or frost it on a cupcake.

DSC_2531

DSC_2536

Kale Pesto:
1 medium bunch kale, stems removed
1 garlic clove, crushed or 1 tsp garlic powder
1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan*
1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted
1/2 cup olive oil
1 tbs) fresh lemon juice

*Optional: leave out if vegetarian/vegan.

Pulse/blend ingredients in a blender until combined. I like my pesto a little bit more course, but you may continue to blend until the pesto reaches a course puree consistency.

Reply!

