Caramelized Onion Flatbread with Brie (From Quebec!)


Before classes started, Mike and I drove to Canada for a few days. We stayed in Niagara for one day, then made our way to Toronto. Niagara is extremely touristy, so one day there was more than enough. Although, speaking of tourist attractions, I highly recommend the Hornblower/Maid of the Mist ride – it’s the closest you’ll get to the Falls, plus, it’s featured in Bruce Almighty. Oh – and definitely check out Johnny Rocco’s Italian Grill & Resturaunt for dinner – the staff was really friendly (like most people we encountered in Canada) and the food was better than any of the overpriced chain restaurants located on the main strip.

DSC_3268

DSC_3228

After our day in Niagara, we drove to Toronto. In my opinion, Toronto is like a tranquilized New York City; the people passing by seem less hurried and the energy of the city is a lot calmer. Needless to say, Toronto was my favorite place we visited on this trip. For brunch, we ate at the Harvest Kitchen – a little hole in the wall restaurant I found whilst browsing Instagram. I started with a fresh orange, carrot and pineapple elixir and Mike ordered a kale and pineapple smoothie with a chocolate almond milk latte on the side – what a combo, eh? Then, we both ordered the Mushroom French Fry Benedict for our meal. Yum. Get it if you can.

After brunch, we walked to the Hockey Hall of Fame which I thought was pretty cool since I practically grew up in a hockey rink (my brother is a goalie). We planned to visit the CN Tower next, but the weather did not permit; it was overcast, so we opted to skip this particular tourist attraction. Instead, we walked straight to the St. Lawrence Market. There, we bought some Canadian Brie, Camembert and award-winning Gouda… which brings me to this post.

I used the Brie (from Quebec, in case you were wondering) to make this Caramelized Onion Flatbread.

DSC_3330

DSC_3311

DSC_3356

DSC_3322

I used this recipe and changed a few ingredients

Ingredients:
-2 TBS olive oil
-2 cups of sliced white onions (I used small ones from our CSA)
-1 TBS honey
-2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
-Salt & pepper to taste

-Your choice of pizza crust/flatbread (I used my own recipe that is grain and gluten free)
4 oz Brie cheese, rind removed
-1/4 cup fresh arugula

Reply!

