Image

Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese


I do not have much of a sweet tooth. When I do crave something sweet, I generally opt for  a piece of fresh fruit, or a cup of mango chunks. Yum.

Mike, on the other hand, craves a piece of chocolate after every meal, and my father likes to keep a stash of M&Ms in his closet.

I usually prefer savory over sweet.

The simple appetizer, featured below, offers the best of both worlds. The dish marries the crème de la crème of savory and sweet together. The addition of toasted pistachio pieces adds the perfect amount of “crunch.”

DSC_5106

Ingredients:
-12 Medjool dates, pitted and cut in half
-goat cheese (I used “herbs de provence goat cheese” from Beltane Farm)
-cooked, crispy bacon (I used Applegate)
-pistachios (that I roasted over a frying pan), crushed
-1/4 cup arugula
-honey to drizzle

Stuff the date halves with goat cheese. Then, wrap one slice of bacon per one stuffed date half. Serve the dates over a bed of arugula. Drizzle with honey and crushed pistachios. Makes 2 dozen Bacon Wrapped Dates.

DSC_5083

DSC_5084

Reply!

