Image

Apple Pie Cookies


It is March and apple season is long gone. However, Mike kindly requested that I make cookies for him this weekend. He wants to eat the cookies as his dessert after dinner, so I deliberately left chocolate out of the recipe equation. Fortunately for Mike, I am feeling quite anxious about the impending midterm exams scheduled for this week. In fact, as I type this post, I am scrutinizing the structure and form class words found in my sentences….

When I am stressed, I bake (or cook).

Here is the result of my test anxiety: gluten-free Apple Pie Cookies. apple pie cookies 2Ingredients:

(makes 10-12 large cookies)

– 1/2 cup sweet white rice flour

– 1/2 cup Purely Elizabeth “Cinnamon Apple Pecan” oatmeal (ground into flour [I used my Vitamix to do this])

– 2 TBS tapioca starch

– 1/4 tsp baking soda

– 1/4 tsp salt

– 1 TBS cinnamon

– 1 cup coconut sugar

– 1/4 tsp xantham gum

– 2 TBS flax seed meal mixed with 5 TBS water

– 1/4 cup coconut oil

– 1/3 cup apple, finely chopped

– 1/4 cup pecan or walnut pieces


Preheat oven to 350. Line a baking tray lined with parchment paper, set aside. Combine the first 8 (dry ingredients) in a bowl. Then, in a food processor or by hand, mix in the remaining ingredients, excluding the apple and pecan/walnut pieces. Lastly, fold the apple and nuts into the sticky batter until combined. Using a tablespoon or an ice cream scoop, scoop the batter onto the prepared baking tray. Bake for 10 minutes. Cool completely and then serve.
apple pie cookies

Reply!

